Flint's EM orders the creation of three new committees - ABC 12 – WJRT – Flint, MI

Flint's EM orders the creation of three new committees

Posted: Updated:

(02/11/14) - Flint's Emergency Manager, Darnell Earley, has ordered the creation of three new committees within city council.

They are for the areas of: Public Safety, Finance and Legislative Affairs.

All three have their first meetings already scheduled within the next week, and they'll be open to the public.

Earley says the objective is to begin "re-engaging" the city council as the city prepares to someday have full control of city operations again.

The committees on Public Safety and Finance are scheduled to meet on Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014 in City Council Chambers with the Public Safety Committee meeting beginning at 3 p.m. and the Finance Committee meeting beginning at 4:30 p.m. The third committee on Legislative Affairs is set to meet on Monday, Feb. 17, 2014 at 4 p.m. in City Council Chambers before the scheduled meeting of the full Council.

City Council Committees and all other functions were disbanded under Public Act 4 by former Emergency Manager Mike Brown on Dec. 1, 2011 by Executive Order #2.

The Councilpersons on each committee are as follows:

Public Safety Committee: Vicki VanBuren (Chairperson), Jackie Poplar, Josh Freeman.

Finance Committee: Josh Freeman (Chairperson), Wantwaz Davis, Monica Galloway.

Legislative Affairs: Sheldon Neeley (Chairperson), Eric Mays, Scott Kincaid.

Powered by WorldNow


ABC12 Main Station

Mailing Address:
2302 Lapeer Road
Flint, Michigan 48503

Powered by 

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WJRT. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.