Automotive Hall of Fame Will Induct Four Industry Giants at 75th Anniversary Gala July 24 - ABC 12 – WJRT – Flint, MI

Automotive Hall of Fame Will Induct Four Industry Giants at 75th Anniversary Gala July 24

Information contained on this page is provided by an independent third-party content provider. WorldNow and this Station make no warranties or representations in connection therewith. If you have any questions or comments about this page please contact

SOURCE Automotive Hall of Fame

DETROIT, July 23, 2014 /PRNewswire/ -- Four automotive industry giants who developed radically new vehicles in Europe and America, new insights into meaningful quality measurements and new concepts in automotive publications will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame during ceremonies celebrating the organization's 75th anniversary on the evening of July 24.

The only organization of its type in the world, the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn, Mich., celebrates the insights, intuitions and inventiveness of people who connect the auto industry to its foundations and its future. It has honored 300 people since its founding in 1939.

"We recognize a special responsibility to cultivate and spread the story of the automotive industry's roots and development to provide valuable perspective and inspiration for future generations," said Automotive Hall of Fame President William R. Chapin. "The Automotive Hall of Fame is especially proud and thrilled to induct the 2014 honorees as we celebrate each of their unique and outstanding achievements and contributions to the global automotive industry."

The inductees at this year's event are responsible for automotive innovation over three-quarters of a century:

  • Ferdinand K. Piech, chairman of the Supervisory Board for Volkswagen Group, is the grandson of Ferdinand Porsche. He became the head of Audi and grew that brand into a competitor to Europe's most renowned luxury vehicles. As chairman and CEO of Volkswagen group, he is credited with transforming the company into the powerhouse it is today, overseeing the purchases and integration of Lamborghini and Bentley and the founding of Bugatti Automobiles. An engineer by profession, he influenced the development of the Audi Quattro, the New Volkswagen Beetle and numerous other cars.
  • Keith E. Crain, chairman of Crain Communications, oversees more than 27 business, trade and consumer publications produced by 800 people in 13 offices internationally. As editor-in-chief and columnist for Automotive News in the U.S. and Europe and editorial director of AutoWeek, he regularly sets the industry agenda with analysis and insights that place economic trends and technology developments in a community and industry perspective. He developed the Automotive News World Congress in Detroit as an international forum for industry leaders and launched the European World Congress through Automotive News Europe. He also is a civic leader for Detroit institutions.
  • J.D. "Dave" Power III, often considered the single most powerful force for quality in the automotive industry, developed the consumer studies that today serve as the gold standard for evaluating vehicle quality. First through his Dealer Attitude Study, then the U.S. Automotive Customer Satisfaction Index, the U.S. Automotive Initial Quality Study and similar studies around the world, J.D. Power has served as the most credible and influential advocate of automotive customers.
  • Alex Tremulis, an extraordinary automotive designer, developed the design for the radically aerodynamic Tucker Torpedo, then designed concept cars for Kaiser-Fraser and Ford before establishing his own design firm in Ann Arbor. The late innovator also taught at what would later become the College for Creative Studies in Detroit.

At the ceremonies, the Hall of Fame also will honor James E. Lentz, chief executive officer of Toyota North America, with its Industry Leader of the Year Award. Writer, curator and historian Ken Gross, as well as Ideal Group Chairman and CEO Frank Venegas, Jr. will be recognized with the Hall's Distinguished Service Citation.

The Gala Ceremony will be held at the A. Alfred Taubman Center for Design Education, College for Creative Studies, in Detroit.

The Automotive Hall of Fame works to constantly expand its role as a global resource for information about those who have shaped the auto industry. The organization seeks to serve as a primary source of inspiration derived from the contributions of automotive industry leaders.

About the Automotive Hall of Fame (
The Automotive Hall of Fame is committed to preserving and promoting automotive history for the future. From North America to Europe and Asia, the Hall of Fame serves as a primary resource for information about those who shaped the auto industry. The organization celebrates the insights and ingenuity of people who have contributed to the industry's success, and has honored more than 800 men and women since its founding in 1939. The Automotive Hall of Fame's mission is guided by its board of directors and its president, William R. Chapin.

©2012 PR Newswire. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

ABC12 Main Station

Mailing Address:
2302 Lapeer Road
Flint, Michigan 48503

Powered by 

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WJRT. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.