Grand Blanc Township board gets new look after primary voters oust 4 incumbents

Published: Aug. 5, 2020 at 6:37 PM EDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

GRAND BLANC TOWNSHIP, Mich. (WJRT) - Voters opted for change in Grand Blanc Township weeks after the board voted to fire the township superintendent.

Four incumbents who voted to fire Superintendent Dennis Liimatta lost their bids for re-election in Tuesday’s primary election.

Township Supervisor Scott Bennett is running unopposed for a new four-year term. He and Treasurer Earl Guzak, who is not seeking re-election, were the only board members to vote against firing Liimatta.

Clerk Cathy Lane lost a Republican primary challenge to former State Rep. Dave Robertson on Tuesday. Robertson will run against Democrat Shannon Polk, who ran as a write-in candidate, for the clerk position in November.

Trustees Joe Massey and Ken Thomas finished fourth and fifth out of five candidates in the Democratic race, meaning Thomas will not appear on the November general election ballot. Massey will advance to November’s ballot with Sarah Hugo, Paul White and Jude Rariden.

Trustee Al Mansour finished fifth out of five candidates in the Republican race on Tuesday, meaning he also will not advance to November’s election. Joel Feick, Ryan Thompson, Christopher Estes and Jay Johnson will run for trustee as Republicans in November.

Trustee Lonnie Adkins lost in the Republican primary for the township treasurer position to Larry Anderson, who will advance to November’s ballot to face Democrat Mark Kilmer.

Copyright 2020 WJRT. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News