Federal disaster relief approved for Mid-Michigan areas affected by floods

Published: Mar. 30, 2018 at 5:35 PM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(3/30/2018) - The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved a disaster declaration for four Michigan counties affected by severe flooding in February.

Gov. Rick Snyder announced Friday the declaration covers Arenac, Berrien, Ingham, and Kalamazoo counties and the adjacent counties of Allegan, Barry, Bay, Branch, Calhoun, Cass, Clinton, Eaton, Gladwin, Iosco, Jackson, Livingston, Ogemaw, Shiawassee, St. Joseph, and Van Buren.

Residents and businesses that sustained uninsured, flood-related losses of 40 percent or more are eligible to apply for low-interest loans. The money could be used to repair or replace real estate, personal property, machinery and equipment and business assets that were damaged or destroyed.

Additional information is available at .

(Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)