New Lothrop's Harrison named AP Division 7-8 Player of Year

By  | 

NEW LOTHROP (WJRT) (12/3/2018) - New Lothrop's Aidan Harrison has been named the 2018 Player of the Year for The Associated Press All-State Team for Division 7-8 high school football in Michigan.

The 6-foot-3, 190-pound racked up 1,144 total yards and 25 touchdowns as a wide receiver and running back. He helped the Hornets to a 13-1 record and a win in the Division 7 state championship game.

Co-coaches of the Year are New Lothrop's Clint Galvas and Breckenridge's Kris Robinson. Voting was by a panel of AP member sports writers from around the state.

Here is the rest of the All-State team:

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Aidan Harrison, New Lothrop, Sr.


QUARTERBACKS: Avery Moore, New Lothrop, Jr.; Austin Brown, Madison Heights Madison, Sr.

RUNNING BACKS: Kendel Taylor, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, Sr.;
Ethan LoPresto, Reading, Sr.; Cameron Wirth, Pewamo-Westphalia, Sr.;
Ridge Schutte, Whittemore-Prescott, Sr.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Josh Cox, Ravenna, Jr.; Klayton Cornell, Madison Heights Bishop Foley, Jr.; Aidan Harrison, New Lothrop, Sr.; Earnest Sanders, Flint Beecher, Jr.

LINEMEN: Victor Nelson, Detroit Central, Sr.; Chauncey Ernest, Madison Heights Madison, Sr.; Nick Affholter, Reading, Jr.; Tyson Claeys, Johannesburg-Lewiston, Sr.; John Martin, Pewamo-Westphalia, Jr.; Allan Jamick, New Lothrop, Sr.; Reid Marshall, St. Ignace, Jr.; Schriver Miller, Breckenridge, Sr.

LINEBACKERS: Mike McLeod, Lake City, Sr.; Kaleb Budnick, Rogers City, Sr.; Daniel Smith, Carson City-Crystal, Sr.; Ben Affholter, Reading, Jr.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Rayvon Williamson, Detroit Community, Sr.; Adam LeGault, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker, Sr.; Aaron Herron, Holton, Sr.

SPECIALIST: Tyrese Hunt-Thompson, Cassopolis, Sr.

KICKER: Alec Thelen, Pewamo-Westphalia, Sr.

PUNTER: Evan Orme, Riverview Gabriel Richard, Sr.

COACH: Kris Robinson, Breckenridge; Clint Galvas, New Lothrop

SECOND-TEAM ALL-STATE (nominees receiving two or more votes from the voting panel)

QUARTERBACKS: Jake Burger, Pittsford, Sr.; Brad Dunn, Saugatuck, Sr.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Nino Mastromatteo, Clarkston Everest Collegiate, Sr.; Devan Davis, Lake City, Sr.

LINEMEN: Derrick Harrmon, Detroit Loyola, So.; Derek Pouch, Holton, Sr.; Cam Corso, Madison Heights Madison, Jr.; DeShaun Williams, Ottawa Lake Whiteford, Sr.; Hunter Majeur, Climax-Scotts, Sr.; Nate Knapp, Lake City, Sr.

LINEBACKERS: Jake Pung, Pewamo-Westphalia, Jr.; Hunter Parsons, Cassopolis, Sr.; Vince Oliver, Waterford Our Lady of the Lakes, Sr.; Adam Long, Madison Heights Madison, Jr.

DEFENSIVE BACKS: Jacob Larrison, Centreville, Sr.; Adam Baker, Adrian Lenawee Christian, Jr.; Angelo Scafone, Auburn Hills Oakland Christian, Jr.


QUARTERBACKS: Mack Young, North Muskegon; Terrence Ealy, Detroit Central; Matt Holt, Lake City; Gavin Sundberg, Ishpeming; Carter Staley, Breckenridge; Sandyn Cuthrell, Cass City; Brayden Mallak, Oscoda; Braden Mussat, Madison Heights Bishop Foley.

RUNNING BACKS: Logan Murphy, Ottawa Lake Whiteford; D'Vaun Bentley, Detroit Loyola; Orlando Clarkston, Detroit Central; Josh Legg, Clarkston Everest Collegiate; Alec Muck, Sand Creek; Brady Jackson, Saranac; Drew Stout, Carson City-Crystal; Devin Pfaff, Harbor Beach; Jackson Wells, Harbor Springs; Thomas Pastell, Roscommon; Preston Warren, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker; Ricky Lindsay, Brown City; Ethan Lemke, Ubly; Conner Gettel, Unionville-Sebewaing; Giovanni Weeks, Kent City; Dan Roman, Royal Oak Shrine.

WIDE RECEIVERS: Zac Clark, Britton Deerfield; Owen Franklin, Oscoda.

LINEMEN: Maurice Davenport, Detroit Community; Nevin Hughes, Riverview Gabriel Richard; EyQuan Cobb, Detroit Central; Connor Brodie, Clinton; Jackson Marsh, Sand Creek; Justin Norgan, Centreville; Kyle Hebner, Harbor Springs; Jared Thelen, Pewamo-Westphalia; Austin Zank, Vermontville Maple Valley; Jayson Tunstall, New Lothrop; Cole Broekhuizen, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary; Brody Eastin, Saginaw Michigan Lutheran Seminary, Jimmy Benkert, Saginaw Nouvel; Lucas Carlson, Merrill; Justin Pratt, Roscommon; Ben Kreger, Sandusky; Blake Smithers, Elkton-Pigeon Bay Port Laker; Evan Smaglinski, Harbor Beach.

LINEBACKERS: Jameson Chesser, Adrian Lenawee Christian; Sam Cousino, Monroe St. Mary's; Trevor Salani, Manton; Conner Smith, Frankfort; Maurice Hutchinson, Sterling Heights Parkway Christian; Jared Checkley, Decatur; Seth Schafer, Beal City; Jake Brown, St. Louis; Max Thomas, Roscommon.

SPECIALIST: Lukas Ebright, Breckenridge; Larson Kever, Union City; TJ McKenzie, North Muskegon; Jus'Tyz Tuggle, Detroit Central.

KICKER: Kendall Genter, Harbor Beach; Mika Schwab, Lake City.

COACH: Kyle Smith, Lake City; Dan Purlee, Cassopolis; Bill Wilharms, Adrian Lenawee Christian; Brian Barnes, Madison Heights Bishop Foley; Jack Nummerdor, Holton; John Callahan, Detroit Loyola; Del Humphrey, Detroit Community.

(Copyright 2018 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus